Community Call: Local Interventions Group’s experiences in disaster recovery accountability in Nepal

Join us on 10 August at 9am EDT/2pm BST/4pm EAT /6:45pm NPT (additional timezones) for a DataShift community call on disaster recovery accountability in Nepal. Quincy Wiele of Local Interventions Group will share the organisation’s experiences in providing opportunities for Nepalese to be more involved in the disaster recovery process and holding their government accountable for its efforts.

The good news is that after a natural disaster, the international community and citizens are often generous with financial support for survivors. The bad news is that this money is entrusted to the government; often with no strings attached. When governments are given a blank check for disaster relief and recovery, how can citizens hold them accountable for how that money is spent?

After the devastating 2015 earthquakes in Nepal, the Nepalese government and other actors turned its attention to humanitarian assistance. In an effort to monitoring and improve the earthquake response, Local Interventions Group (LIG) along with Accountability Lab (AL) started the Mobile Help Desk. This initiative would close the information loop that exists between the public and the government while simultaneously, plugging these gaps by directly providing essential information to earthquake victims.
We hope you’ll join us to learn about these experiences, ask questions, and share your own knowledge on disaster recovery accountability.

Join us for the webinar on 10 August – RSVP now!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *